School Board

Current School Board Members
School Board Members Denise Brannaman, Nannette Gunn, Sherry Grunder, Rick Elliott, Lori Merlak, Jeremy Kunz, Superintendent Dr. Greg Batenhorst, Lance Schoff

The Mount Vernon Community School District is governed by a seven-person School Board that serves four-year terms.  The School Board is charged with ensuring the policies, procedures, and practices of the District are in the best interest of its students, and are in compliance with all pertinent state and federal guidelines.  The volunteers that serve as Board members are passionate about the district and the community, and represent their constituents in the community in an effective manner.

If you have a question or concern about the district, you are encouraged to communicate with Mount Vernon educators, administrators, and school board members. If you have a concern, the best place to begin is with those directly involved and responsible, at the specific school: the teacher and/or principal. It is there that most problems can be quickly and productively resolved. If questions still remain, please contact the superintendent. And, if you’re convinced that further action is required, the school board is available to hear your concerns.

The Mount Vernon Community School District School Board welcomes your ideas, questions or suggestions. With your help, we can achieve our goal of continued excellence in education.  Regular meetings of the School Board take place at 6:30 p.m. on the second Monday of each month at Mount Vernon High School.

Board of Education MembersBoard of Education Phone Numbers
Sherry Grunder
Nannette Gunn
Vice President
Denise Brannaman319-895-8291
Rick Elliott319-533-0622
Jeremy Kunz319-551-7458
Lori Merlak319-389-2886
Lance Schoff319-895-8018
Dr. Greg Batenhorst
ext. 1001
Matt Burke
School Board Secretary/Treasurer
ext. 1002