Iowa Core

The Mount Vernon Community School District strives to provide students a strong, well-developed curriculum that is aligned to the Iowa Core. These statewide academic standards define what students should know and be able to do at each grade level, regardless of location or school district. They are rigorous and relevant in order to prepare students to graduate high school ready for college or the workforce. Families can find a brief overview of the standards for each grade level plus tips for how to help your child at home in these parent guides.

Priority Standards

Priority standards are the essential learning objectives on which a majority of instruction is focused. That does not mean that the other standards are skipped, but rather that they support or are taught in context with the priority standards. More information about priority standards for grades K-4 is coming soon. For information about priority standards for grades 5-12, see our online course descriptions.

Curriculum Cycle

The Mount Vernon Community School District is committed to providing its students with a rigorous and relevant education. To pursue these efforts, the district has developed the following curriculum cycle to develop, review, and implement a strong curriculum that meets the needs of our learners and helps students achieve the standards.


Key Contacts

Michelle Boyden

District Teacher Leadership Instructional Specialist